Beginning the Process

In the process of recreating the door we are choosing and replicating a singular panel each; as there are 6 of us that will be modelling these we will be producing a panel each (which will be cast twice) and another panel between the group in order to make sure that the correct amount of panels will be made. We will also be modelling and casting the rosettes and barley twists as a group so that we can evenly split the timing.

Screen Shot 2016-12-15 at 16.04.21.png

I have chosen to work on the “Annunciation” panel. I believe this panel is showing us the scene when Mary is old that she has become pregnant by the Angel Gabriel.
I chose this panel simply because I thought it was the nicest to work from in terms of detail; I was certain that I wanted to work with an angel because the wings fascinate me.

screen-shot-2016-12-15-at-15-56-52

For today I have drawn the outlines of the figures, structures and writing, in order to make a start on the modelling. I am using plasticine to model with as it is easily shapable and becomes firm when cold.

 

Leave a comment